Water Chestnut Flour is made from dried, ground water chestnuts. In-spite of what the name suggests, water chestnuts are not nuts at all. They are aquatic tuber vegetables that grow in marshes, ponds, paddy fields and shallow lakes. This makes them a-okay for those with nut allergies. This flour is also gluten-free.